Create Your SLA

Server Cloud

This page is about Time to SLA for Jira Cloud. Using Jira Server? Then please click on the "Server" button above.

Within Time to SLA, you can:
  • Differentiate SLAs based on priority.
  • Start/end your SLAs by issue status, date fields or comments.
  • Set SLA Goals as a duration.
  • Select SLA pause statuses
  • Set SLA reset fields.
  • Select different calculation methods.
  • Narrow down the scope of an SLA by using JQL functions.
  • Set the SLA Target Date custom field.

On this page, you will learn how to define an SLA.

Go to SLA configuration

  1. Log into your Jira Cloud account.
  2. Click on Apps in the header menu to see the Time to SLA app.
  3. Go to SLA Configurations.

Time to Define an SLA

Click Add new SLA Definition.

The SLA configuration pop-up screen will appear.

  1. Create a name for your SLA.
  2. When this toggle is disabled, all SLA calculations will be stopped and the SLA will not appear in fields, reports and other configurations. Enabling it will do the opposite.
  3. The SLA Scope allows you to define the projects, issues (JQL), and workflows that an SLA will be applied to.

    Please note:

    It’s important to enter a value within at least one of these fields.

  4. These are your start, stop, reset and pause conditions.
    1. One start and one stop condition is required.
    2. Start, stop and reset conditions are what we call point conditions. They define a point within an issue’s lifetime, such as when the issue was assigned or when the status changed to open for example.
    3. Reset SLA conditions determine the behavior of reset actions on stopped SLAs. There are 3 use cases to keep in mind here: 1) a finished SLA is a closed contract and a reset cannot change that, 2) a finished contract might be reactivated from zero with a reset, and 3) a finished contract might be completely invalidated with a reset (with a new START event, the SLA can start from ZERO even in FIRST cycle SLAs).
    4. Pause is an interval condition, it defines an interval within an issue’s lifetime. For example, assignee is EMPTY and status is OPEN.
    5. When there are multiple pause intervals, all of them will be applied to the SLA. Let’s take “assignee is EMPTY” and “team is EMPTY” for example. Here, the SLA will be paused when the assignee is EMPTY, the team is EMPTY or both of them are EMPTY.
  5. Here, you can set your goals.
    1. By default, there is always one goal but this can be disabled.
    2. You can add an unlimited number of goals through the “Add new SLA goal” button.
    3. All goals, except for the default goal, has to include a JQL or a priority.
    4. Goal selection is a two-step process. First the goal type and then the goal itself.

Goal types:

      1. Negotiation date: select a date field and the SLA will use this value as its deadline.

        Please note:

        If the selected field is a date picker instead of a date-time picker, then an extra “offset” selection will be opened because a time (hour and minute) needs to be part of the deadline.

      2. Dynamic duration: the field type “TTS - Duration Field” is a duration input in the following format “8h30m”. When you create such a field and select it as an SLA goal, then you will be able to select SLA goals individually for each issue by simply filling this field in.

        Please note:

        This field can be created within Time to SLA —> SLA fields —> Add custom field —> TTS Duration Field.

      3. Fixed duration: just type a duration and this will be your SLA’s goal. Simple. The deadline is calculated as Deadline = SLA Start + SLA Goal + Pause Duration.

        Please note:

        When “d” (date) is used in the duration, it will be evaluated as a “calendar day” which could be  8 hours for example.

e. Each goal has to be connected to a calendar. By default, issues should be answered within 1 day (relative to your working hours) but there’s flexibility within this. For example, you might want to answer critical issues quicker.

f. Goals are evaluated from top to bottom, they can be reordered by simply dragging and dropping within this page.

6. This is the Calculation Method for the elapsed duration.

Please note:

A cycle is each interval between a consecutive SLA start and endpoint within an issue’s lifetime. By default, each cycle starts with the earliest start point and earliest end point.

7. The Critical Zone is a parameter that you can set to signal when an SLA has reached what you would describe as critical. Once an SLA enters this zone, it will change color from blue to orange.

8. The Asynchronous Update allows you to execute SLA updates asynchronously after issue events.

You can search your SLAs using the search box in the SLA configuration menu.